OFFICIAL PUBLICATION DES MOINES AREA REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY (DART) COMMISSION MEETING – June 1, 2021 – 620 CHERRY STREET, DES MOINES, IA 50309

[The above Commission Meeting was held via Zoom. The Commission determined that it is impossible and impractical for all members of the Commission, staff and members of the public to be physically present at this Commission meeting due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and that it is necessary to conduct this Commission meeting by electronic means.]

Chair, Russ Trimble, called the meeting to order at 12.06 p.m. but due to a quorum not being met, no roll call was done at this time and no Commission business was conducted. Public comments were made, and discussion Items began.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Joy Ihle, Deputy Director at Polk County Community and Youth Services shared their support of the half fare pilot program and the positive feedback they have received from those in Polk Co. that utilize the service.

CALL TO ORDER

Chair, Russ Trimble, called the meeting to order and the meeting convened for the conduct of the Commission's business at 12.29 p.m. Roll call was taken, and a quorum was present. Notice of the meeting was duly published.

ROLL CALL

Commissioners/Alternates Present and Voting:

Vern Willey, Kelly Whiting (arrived at 1.30pm), Doug Elrod, Michael McCoy, Josh Mandelbaum, Jill Altringer (left at 1.10pm), Paula Dierenfeld (arrived at 1.20pm), Ross Grooters, Bridget Montgomery and Russ Trimble

Alternates Present and Voting

Jake Anderson and Steve Van Oort

Alternates Present but Not Voting

John Edwards

Commissioners/Alternates Absent:

Angela Connolly and Joseph Jones

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair, Russ Trimble requested a motion to approve the agenda as presented.

It was moved by Vern Willey and seconded by Bridget Montgomery to approve the June 1, 2021 agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

CONSENT ITEMS

- 7A Commission Meeting Minutes May 4, 2021
- 7B FY 2022 Iowa Communities Assurance Pool (ICAP) Renewal
- 7C DART Annual Health Insurance
- 7D Van Donation Program Recipients
- 7E Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments

7F – April 2021 Financials

It was moved by Vern Willey and seconded by Michael McCoy to approve the consent items with an amendment to the May 4 meeting minutes to reflect that John Edwards (City of Clive) and Len Murray (City of Pleasant Hill) were in attendance but not voting. The motion carried unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

8A – Municipal Advisor Services for the Operation and Maintenance Facility

It was moved by Vern Willey and seconded by Bridget Montgomery to approve a contract with PFM Financial Advisers for Municipal Advisor Services for an amount Not to Exceed \$137,500 for the duration of the project. The motion carried unanimously.

8B – Grimes On-Call Zone Expansion

It was moved by Doug Elrod and seconded by Bridget Montgomery to approve the expansion of the hours and zone of the Grimes On-Call as shared. The motion carried unanimously.

8C – Half Fare Pilot Program Extension

It was moved by Ross Grooters and seconded by Josh Mandelbaum to approve a 12- month extension of the current half fare pilot program to run through June 30, 2022 and include housing assistance as an additional form of enrollment eligibility for pilot participants. The motion carried unanimously.

8D – Rideshare Part-Time Fare Proposal

It was moved by Bridget Montgomery and seconded by Josh Mandelbaum to approve the proposed Part-Time Fare Structure as a permanent fare option for Rideshare customers working a flexible schedule. The motion carried unanimously.

8E – August 2021 Service Change

It was moved by Vern Willey and seconded by Bridget Montgomery to approve the Title VI Service Equity Analysis for the August 2021 Service Change. The motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Vern Willey and seconded by Doug Elrod to approve the above listed service changes to select fixed routes effective August 21, 2021. The motion carried unanimously.

CLOSED SESSION

It was moved by Josh Mandelbaum and seconded by Kelly Whiting that the Commission adjourn the regular session and reconvene in closed session for the reason that the Commissioners of the Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority go into closed session pursuant to section 21.5, subsection 1, paragraph (i) of the Iowa Code to evaluate the professional competency of the Chief Executive Officer whose appointment, hiring, performance or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session.

Roll Call: Willey - Yea, Whiting – Yea, Elrod – Yea – McCoy, Yea, Mandelbaum - Yea, Altringer – Nay – Anderson – Yea, Dierenfeld, Yea, Grooters - Yea, Van Oort – Yea, Montgomery – Yea, Trimble – Yea

Chair, Russ Trimble recessed the regular meeting at 1.34pm No action was taken during the closed session.

At 1.54 pm, it was moved by Vern Willey and seconded by Josh Mandelbaum that the closed session be adjourned, and the regular session be reconvened. The motion carried unanimously.

MEETING RECONVENED IN OPEN SESSION

Roll Call: Willey - Yea, Whiting – Yea, Elrod – Yea – McCoy, Yea, Mandelbaum - Yea, Altringer – Nay – Anderson – Yea, Dierenfeld, Yea, Grooters - Yea, Van Oort – Yea, Montgomery – Yea, Trimble – Yea

It was moved by Bridget Montgomery and seconded by Vern Willey to approve the new 5-year contract for the Chief Executive Officer. The motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURN

Meeting adjourned at 1:56 p.m.

OFFICIAL NOTICE OF THE NEXT DART COMMISSION MEETING DATE IS HEREBY PUBLISHED:

The next regular DART monthly Commission Meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, July 13, 2021 at 12:00 p.m. in the DART Multimodal Room at 620 Cherry Street, Des Moines, Iowa. (If the Administration offices at DART Central Station remain closed on July 13, 2021 and the Dart Commission determines that it is still impractical and impossible to have Commission members, staff and the public physically present for this Commission meeting, then the July 13, 2021 Commission meeting will again be hosted via a virtual platform such as Zoom. Participation directions for such the virtual meeting will be forthcoming).